Google Chrome users: be sure to refresh your browser window to get the latest content.

ES Audio Engineering Society - Pacific Northwest Section

Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

NOTE: anyone can attend this meeting regardless of their status as an AES member. AES MEMBERSHIP IS NOT REQUIRED.

**PNW AES Section** 

## November Meeting Notice Determining the Subjective Effects of Compression: Techniques, Topologies, and Factors Presented By Chris Deckard – Deckard Audio and the AES PNW Section Committee

## Thursday, November 6th, 2014. 7:30pm Shoreline Community College, Music Building, Room 818

Directions to Shoreline CC

Compressors are a common tool these days. Modern digital consoles have them on every channel, as well as on the mix buses. But do you really know what is going on inside the box, and aside from what your ears tell you when you crank on the knobs, how good a grasp do you have on what a compressor *actually* does?

Our newest Committee member, Chris Deckard, has been delving into the topic, and has been working on a virtual compressor simulator that allows him to explore a design without touching a soldering iron.

At our November meeting, we'll take a look at Chris' simulation, and then look at some classic compressor implementations followed with a demo using actual hardware.

## **Steve Malott**

AES PNW 2014-2015 Section Chair

**n.b.** The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

## Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

2013-14 O	fficers								
Chairman Dave Tosti-Lane	Vice- Chairman Steve Malott	Secretary Gary Louie	Treasurer Greg Mauser	At Large: Aurika Hays, Membership	Refer to the Officers and Committee contact list for contact information.				
			Madsor	Rick Chinn, Webmaster					
Program Committee									
Committee 1 Bob Smith	Committee 2 Mark Rogers	Committee 3 Scott Mehrens	Committee 4 Lawrence Schwedler	Committee 5 Daniel Casado	Committee 6 JJ Johnston	Committee 7 Dan Mortensen	8 Dr. Ivan	Committee 9 Dr. Michael Matesky	Commmittee 10 Rich Williams