Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

Transparent One and Audio Entrepreneurship with Gary Gesellchen, CTO Rick Kernen, CEO Vanatoo

## Presented by AES Pacific Northwest Section

## Shoreline Community College, Rm 818 7:30pm, Thursday, May 16th, 2013

Directions to Shoreline CC

Have you ever thought about starting your own company or wondered what might be going through the minds of those who do? This is your chance to study the topic up-close. Vanatoo, a local audio startup, will present their first product to our group and will describe the process of morphing from Engineers, to Entrepreneurs, and then to Marketing types.

The Vanatoo Transparent One is a compact, self-powered loudspeaker system designed to vastly improve upon the \$2.50 speakers that come with the average desktop computer, laptop, or flatscreen TV. In addition to analog sources, they can accept digital sources directly via TosLink, SPDIF, and USB. Digital sources remain in the digital domain until they reach the loudspeaker. Analog sources are immediately converted to digital and then processed.

Hopefully we will all be rewarded by the fruits of their labor with a little music after the break. If you have a favorite tune or recording on an iOS device or a CD, please bring it along!

Vanatoo Website

## **Dave Tosti-Lane**

AES PNW 2013-2014 Section Chair

**n.b.** The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

2013-14 Officers									
Chairman Dave Tosti-Land	Vice- Chairman Steve Malott	Secretary Gary Louie	Treasurer Greg Mauser	At Large: Aurika Hays, Membership Rick Chinn, Webmaster			nd Committe	e contact lis	t for contact
Program Committee									
Committee 1 Bob Smith	Committee 2 Mark Rogers	Committee 3 Scott Mehrens	Committee 4 Lawrence Schwedler	Committee 5 Daniel Casado	Committee 6 JJ Johnston	Committee 7 Dan Mortensen	8 Dr. Ivan	9 Dr	Commmittee 10 Rich Williams