Around the Seattle area, Washington, U.S.A. Last Update: May 9, 2001

May Meeting Notice Line Array Loudspeaker Technology Presented by John Monitto, Meyer Sound Laboratories Notice of Elections

DATE: Saturday, May 19, 2001, 10:00AM (Arrive by 9:45 AM!) PLACE: S. Mark Taper Auditorium, Benaroya Hall, Seattle

DIRECTIONS: See text

Line arrays have been used in sound reinforcement for at least 70 years, but there has been a recent explosion of commercially-available line arrays from a variety of manufacturers. Our next meeting will be an examination of Meyer Sound Laboratories¹ new entry in the Line-Array sweepstakes, the M3D. We¹ll be able to listen to the M3D in the wonderful acoustic space of The Taper Foundation Auditorium in Benaroya Hall, thanks to a concert the previous evening which used the M3D.

The intricacies of the M3D will be unraveled for us by John Monitto, Meyer Sound¹s factory-based Technical Sales Support Manager, who was deeply involved in the design and implementation of the M3D.

At low frequencies, line arrays offer tighter vertical coverage than curved arrays, at least until the wavelength of the lower frequencies approaches the array length. Here the line array becomes omnidirectional, causing increased spill onto the stage area, and many other problems. The M3D employs a proprietary system of rear-facing low drivers producing directional low-frequency output to 40 Hz, with a 90-degree polar pattern, and a 25 dB reduction in sound level behind the cabinet: a cardioid low-frequency speaker. No other line array system offers such low-frequency control.

As with all new Meyer Sound loudspeakers, the M3D is self-powered, meaning that each cabinet contains its own power amplifier.

More can be found at the Meyer Sound M3D website: http://www.meyersound.com/m3d/index2.htm

Note: Because of Benaroya Hall's tight schedule, our meeting will start promptly at 10AM, and end at 12:00PM. There are no refreshments allowed in the auditorium or onstage, so plan to arrive hydrated and fed.

Directions: From I-5 Southbound: Take the Union Street exit. Continue West on Union. Benaroya Hall is located between Union and University Streets, and Second and Third Avenues. Pay parking is available in the Benaroya Hall parking garage. If you park in the garage, take the elevator labeled ³Third Avenue². Enter through the Grand Lobby.

From I-5 Northbound: Take the Seneca Street exit. Continue West on Seneca. Turn right onto Fourth Avenue. Turn left onto Union. Follow directions above.

From I-5 Northbound from the Eastside: Take the Madison Street exit. Turn left on Madison, Turn right onto Fourth Avenue. Follow directions above.

Notice of Elections - AES PNW Section 2001-2002

The next meeting in June will be the annual PNW business meeting with election of officers. The nominating committee has nominated the following persons:

Chair: Aurika Hays (ind. audio S/W engineer; current vice chair)

Vice Chair: Lindsay Smith (Sparling; current committee)

Secretary: Gary Louie (UW School of Music; current secretary)

Treasurer: Dan Mortensen (Dansound Inc; current treasurer)

and for the 5 open 2-Year Committee positions:

- 1) Bob Gudgel: Project studio owner/user, electronic designer, musician, ham radio and audio enthusiast. Worked for Phase Linear, TAPCO, Spectro Acoustics, AudioControl, Mackie, and Symetrix.
- 2) Dr. Michael Matesky: DMA conducting (UW); composer/arranger, president of Opus 4 Music publishing company; studio musician, contractor, cellist in Opus 4 String Quartet; owner, Opus 4 Music Audio & Video Recording Studio.
- 3) Mark Rogers: A-V engineer for Sparling Inc. in Seattle.
- 4) Rick Smargiassi: past AES PNW Section Chairman, Vice Chairman and committee member. President of Integrated Light and Sound Company, Inc. which sells theatrical lighting, pro sound and video equipment. Also a sound technician at Benaroya Hall and Seattle Center.
- 5) Dave Tosti-Lane: theatrical sound designer, lighting designer and technical director, and Chair of the Performance Production Department at Cornish College of the Arts. Chair of AES Standards Committee Working Group SC-05-03 on Multiple Program Connection, and Vice-Commissioner for Education in the Sound Design Commission of the USITT.

At the June meeting, AES members in good standing may make additional nominations and the vote will be taken.

Committee members continuing the second year of their 2-year term are Rick Chinn, Ron Hyder, Bob Moses and Lee Silberkleit. Full bios for all candidates will be in the June announcement or June meeting.

-Rick Smargiassi

mailto:r.smargiassi@worldnet.att.net

AES PNW 2000-2001 Section Chairman

For general PNW Section business, contact the AES PNW section secretary, Gary Louie, louie@u.washington.edu

This page maintained by AES PNW section webmaster, Rick Chinn, rickc@uneeda-audio.com
This page is located at http://www.aes.org/sections/pnw