Google Chrome users: be sure to refresh your browser window to get the latest content.

AES Audio Engineering Society - Pacific Northwest Section

Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

NOTE: anyone can attend this meeting regardless of their status as an AES member.

AES MEMBERSHIP IS NOT REQUIRED.

June Meeting and Elections Algorithmic Digital Reverberators How the technology of artificial reverberation shapes musical aesthetics Presented By Sean Costello ValhallaDSP

Thursday, June 18, 7:30pm Shoreline Community College, Music Building Room 818, Shoreline, WA

Directions to Shoreline Community College

Sean Costello of ValhallaDSP takes us under the hood of a variety of digital reverberators and along the way takes a look how different the sound of these digital reverbs are to the dark & smooth sounds of plate reverbs and echo chambers. He will also share his thoughts about how the limitations of technology led to innovation in reverb design, and how the sounds of these designs can have an affect on the aesthetics of music and audio production.

Also, if time permits, Sean will take us into the dark underbelly of the digital reverb industry -- the development of commercial reverb algorithms has a "secret society" aspect about it, and very few clues have been publicly discussed — by discussing the "grimoire" aspect of reverb design since the mid 1970s.

Sean Costello

Sean Costello started out experimenting with Csound at the University of Washington in the late 1990s. He was worked with Staccato Systems in 1999 developing physical models for video games. Staccato Systems was acquired by Analog Devices in 2001 and he began working on audio algorithms and development tools for the SHARC and Blacken DSPs. In 2007, he began working as a consultant, developing a wide variety of audio algorithms for a variety of clients. He started Valhalla DSP in 2009 with the release of ValhallaFreqEcho. Sean approaches algorithms from a psychoacoustic perspective and enjoys creating and selling tools directly to artists.

ValhallaDSP website

Elections

Election time is here again. Unlike our national elections, our process is relatively sedate by comparison; no endless robocalls, no candidates stumping the election trail, kissing babies and who knows what else... We announce in May, we elect in June.

The elections committee has identified the following candidates:

Officers

(one year term) Chair: Chris Deckard

Vice Chair: Steve Turnidge Treasurer: Greg Mauser Secretary: Gary Louie

Committee (two year term)

- 1. Bob Smith
- 3. Vacant
- 5. Vacant
- 7. Dan Mortensen
- 9. Mike Matesky

Candidates for the Committee

The top 5 vote getters are considered elected.

René Jaeger Ron Jones Steve Malott# Dr. Mike Matesky* Dan Mortensen* Bob Smith* Dave Tosti-Lane#

- * incumbent
- # previously served as section officers

Candidate Biographical sketches may be found HERE.

More Info

Steve Malott

AES PNW 2014-2015 Section Chair

n.b. The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

AES PNW Section Officer Contact Info 2014-2015

Section Officers Section officers serve a one-year term. Note: If you use a web-based email client, such as Hotmail.com, the only way to contact anyone on this list is via the button provided for contacting the Section Secretary		
Chair Steve Malott Shoreline Community College	Shoreline, WA 98155 phone: 206-546-4670 Email Steve Malott	
Vice Chair Dave Tosti-Lane Cornish College of the Arts	Seattle, WA 98121 phone: 206-306-2773 Email Dave Tosti-Lane	
Secretary Gary Louie University of Washington School of Music	Seattle, WA 98103 phone: 206-543-1218	
Treasurer Greg Mauser Self	Kirkland, WA 98033	

	Email Greg Mauser	
Committee Members of the committee serve a 2 year term. Even numbered positions elect in even numbered years, odd numbered positions elect in odd numbered years.		
Bob Smith Physio Control / BS Studios Committee 1	Lynnwood, WA 98037 phone: 425-867-4811 Email Bob Smith	
Mark Rogers The Greenbusch Group Committee 2	Shoreline, WA 98155 phone: 206-378-0569 x106 Email Mark Rogers	
Christopher Deckard Deckard Audio Committee 3	206-387-2992 Email Christopher Deckard	
Lawrence Schwedler Digipen Institute of Technology Committee 4	Sammamish, WA 98074 phone: 425-629-5029 <u>Email Lawrence Schwedler</u>	
Daniel Casado Retired Committee 5	Seattle, WA 98125 phone: Email Daniel Casado	
James D. (JJ) Johnston Retired Committee 6	Redmond, WA 98052 Email James D. (JJ) Johnston	
Dan Mortensen Dansound Inc. Committee 7	Seattle, WA 98125 phone: 206-525-2113 Email Dan Mortensen	
Ivan Tashev Microsoft Corporation Committee 8	Kirkland, WA 98034 phone: 425-706-1667 Email Ivan Tashev	
Dr. Michael Matesky Opus 4 Studios Committee 9	Bothell, WA 98021 phone: 206-540-5111 Email Dr. Michael Matesky	
Rich Williams Lunchbox Audio Committee 10	Seattle, WA 98125 phone: 206-617-9931 <u>Email Rich Williams</u>	

Rick Chinn Uneeda Audio PNW Section Webmaster At-Large	Sammamish, WA 98074 phone: 425-868-0442 Email Rick Chinn
Aurika Hays Membership Promoter Database Maven Membership	Monroe, WA 98272 phone: 360-794-3817 <u>Email Aurika Hays</u>
Jonathan Novick Audio Precision Western Regional VP	Beaverton, OR
	Email Jonathan Novick

Last modified 05/30/2015.

22:26:26

Last modified 05/30/2015.

22:26:26