Audio Engineering Society - Pacific Northwest Section

Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

## **PNW AES Section**

# **June Meeting Notice**

# **Section Officer Elections** Cardioid Subwoofers: Once A Miracle, Now Easily Done

Presented by Dan Mortensen, owner Dansound, Inc.

Wednesday, June 18th, 7:30pm Edmonds Center for the Arts, 410 Fourth Avenue North, Edmonds, WA 98020

#### **Directions to ECA**

#### **Elections**

We hold elections for Section officers and Committee positions at the June meeting. Members and Associate Members are eligible to vote in the election. If you can't attend the meeting, you can also vote by USPS mail.

The following individuals are nominated:

- Chair Steve Malott
- Vice Chair Dave Tosti-Lane
- Secretary Gary LouieTreasurer Greg Mauser
- Committee 2 Mark Rogers
- Committee 4 Lawrence Schwedler (now running for a 2-year term)
- Committee 6 JJ Johnston
- Committee 8 Ivan Tashev
- Committee 10 Rich Williams

Further information regarding the election, and biographical sketches of the candidates can be found by clicking HERE.

### Cardioid Subwoofers - Presented by Dan Mortensen, Dansound Inc.

At our May meeting concerning Municipal Noise Ordinances, the questions arose: Is it possible to reduce SPL and infringing loudness by using directional subwoofers and, if so, how do you transform an inherently omnidirectional source into unidirectional or cardioid?

There was enough discussion about and interest in the subject and methodology that we thought it would be a nice followup to have a meeting and listening party focusing on how to and why create directional subwoofers and what they sound like in reality.

Join longtime Committee member Dan Mortensen as we look at and listen to a variety of ways to achieve that end, and compare them to non-directional subwoofers. We'll discuss the positives and negatives from each method of deploying your subs, as well as how to predict what your results will be using the free service Meyer MAPP, from Meyer Sound Laboratories.

MAPP Online Pro is a web-based sound system modeling app from Meyer Sound.

Based on a patented method, MAPP Online Pro is a powerful, cross-platform, Java-based application for accurately predicting the coverage pattern, frequency response, impulse response, and maximum SPL output of single or arrayed Meyer Sound loudspeakers. Residing on the user's local computer, the Java client application facilitates configuring arrays of a wide variety of Meyer Sound products and, optionally, defining the environment in which they will operate, including air temperature, pressure and humidity, as well as the location and composition of surfaces. Most 2D CAD (.DXF) files can be imported directly for accurate venue definition.

Meyer Sound

# **Dave Tosti-Lane**

AES PNW 2013-2014 Section Chair

**n.b.** The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

| 2013-14 Officers               |                                      |                                    |   |  |   |                                    |               |   |                                      |
|--------------------------------|--------------------------------------|------------------------------------|---|--|---|------------------------------------|---------------|---|--------------------------------------|
| Chairman<br>Dave<br>Tosti-Lane | Vice-<br>Chairman<br>Steve<br>Malott | Secretary<br>Gary Louie            | Treasurer<br>Greg<br>Mauser             | At Large:<br>Aurika<br>Hays,<br>Membership<br>Rick Chinn,<br>Webmaster | Refer to the Officers and Committee contact list for contact information. |                                    |               |   |                                      |
| Program Committee              |                                      |                                    |   |  |   |                                    |               |   |                                      |
| Committee<br>1<br>Bob Smith    | Committee<br>2<br>Mark<br>Rogers     | Committee<br>3<br>Scott<br>Mehrens | Committee<br>4<br>Lawrence<br>Schwedler | Committee<br>5<br>Daniel<br>Casado                                     | Committee<br>6<br>JJ<br>Johnston  | Committee<br>7<br>Dan<br>Mortensen | 8<br>Dr. Ivan | Committee<br>9<br>Dr.<br>Michael<br>Matesky | Commmittee<br>10<br>Rich<br>Williams |

Last modified 05/04/2014.

00:47:36