

AUDIO engineering society, Inc. Pacific Northwest Section



Mailing Address: 4522 Meridian Avenue North, #201 • Seattle WA 98103 World Wide Web - http://weber.u.washington.edu/~louie/aespnw.html

June Meeting Notice/Chairman's Message

Tour of the Bonneville Broadcast Group Studios

DATE: Thursday, June 26, 1997 - 7:30 PM

PLACE: Bonneville Broadcast Group, 1820 Eastlake Ave E, Seattle

DIRECTIONS: Across the street from Rattler's Grille Restaurant, just north of the old Steam plant, east side of Lake Union.

Join us for a tour of the studios of radio stations KIRO-AM, KIRO-FM (The Buzz) and All News KNWX-AM. This complex was built about a year ago in an existing building, using the latest technology for radio. There is extensive use of computer technology for news gathering, call screening for talk shows, hard disk recording of commercials and live assistance and automation of on-air programing.

Chief Engineer Buzz Anderson will be our host.

Chairman's Message: Dan Mortensen important election news and more

This last year as your Chair has been really wonderful for me, and I hope you've enjoyed the meetings your Committee has put together for you. Our year has gone from Walt Jung's IC Workshop, to the AES Convention Wrap-Up and the look at Audio Control's IASYS, to the Rane tour and product demo, to January's Joint Loudspeaker Listening Workshop (with WAPS), to the St. James Media Matrix tour, to the tour of the Leo K. Theatre, to the Joint Panel Discussion on Recording in the Northwest (with SPARS), to the Art & Science of Troubleshooting Workshop with Perkins, Perkins, and Chinn, to the PAVO Firewire Seminar and Demonstration, to the Internet.audio Conference, and finishes with a tour of KIRO/KNWX facilities. Your Committee has worked really hard to put all those meetings together, and it has been an honor to serve with them.

Now we are at the time of year to determine who will be involved in next year's Committee. Although the Committee has nominated a slate of Officers, we will have open nominations for all positions at our next meeting. This means that if you are interested in planning meetings which highlight some aspect of audio (and planning meetings is virtually the only function of the Committee), you should either come to the meeting and get nominated, or call me and I will see that you are nominated, or you could do both. Any AES Member or Associate Member may be nominated for any one position. Once the nominations close that night, a ballot will be sent to each AES PNW Section Member for voting. The ballots will contain write-in spaces for each position.

Currently there are 4 Officers, and 6 Committee Members. The Committee's Officer nominees are: Chair: David Scheirman; Vice Chair: Rick Chinn; Secretary: Gary Louie; Treasurer: Allen Goldstein. Officer terms are for one year.

Seeking reelection to the Committee will be Terry Denbrook and Dan Mortensen. Along with those two open seats, the Committee has decided to add two members, for a total of four open seats. Since all Committee positions are at-large, the four top votegetters will each serve a two year term.

Barry James, Steve Macatee, Bob Moses, and Rick Smargiassi are each beginning the last year of two year terms.

On a personal note, it has been really fascinating to hear you each introduce yourself at the meetings, and hear about your niche in the audio world. One of the things that is so amazing about audio is how much of the world it encompasses, and how little each of us knows about so many of the areas, while being expert in our own. Thank you for sharing those introductions with us, as well as for your knowledgeable comments and questions at the meetings. We really have quite a fine Section.

Best wishes to you all, Dan Mortensen, Section Chair 1996-97

NON-MEMBERS ARE WELCOME TO ATTEND

1996-97 Officers and Committee Members