Google Chrome users: be sure to refresh your browser window to get the latest content.

AES Audio Engineering Society - Pacific Northwest Section

Around the Puget Sound, Seattle, Washington, U.S.A.

NOTE: anyone can attend this meeting regardless of their status as an AES member.

AES MEMBERSHIP IS NOT REQUIRED.

April Meeting Notice Legal Update - IP Law and Audio Presented By Kevin Jablonski Patent Attorney - Lane Powell, Seattle

Wednesday, April 22, 7:30pm Shoreline Community College, Room 818 (music building)

Directions to Shoreline CC

Patent attorney Kevin Jablonski will present information and foster discussion regarding recently proposed legislation and changes to laws affecting the audio world. These topics will include:

- 1. Proposed legislation regarding music licensing recently embraced by the US Copyright Office.
- 2. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Is software still patentable?
- 3. Marvin Gaye or Robin Thicke/Pharrell Williams/T.I. the Blurred Lines of copyright infringement.
- 4. Some other stuff considered interesting to IP attorneys but mightily boring to just about everyone else.

The presentation will offer opportunities to "ask the lawyer" burning questions, though it is important to point out that no legal advice will be given.

The Presenter

Kevin Jablonski is a patent attorney with the law firm of Lane Powell in Seattle. He has practiced intellectual property law for 15 years and currently sits on the Board for the Washington State Patent Law Association. Kevin has an Electrical Engineering degree as well as a degree in Audio Production and has previously been heavily involved with the AES Pacific Northwest Section.

Steve Malott

AES PNW 2014-2015 Section Chair

n.b. The material presented at our meetings is the opinion of the presenter and not necessarily that of the Society. You are encouraged to conduct your own research and to form your own opinions before adopting the presented material as Truth.

Our meetings are open to anyone interested in Audio. AES membership is NOT required for you to attend our meetings.

2014-15 O	fficers				
Chairman Steve Malott	Vice- Chairman Dave Tosti-Lane	Secretary Gary Louie	Treasurer Greg Mauser	At Large: Aurika Hays, Membership	Refer to the Officers and Committee contact list for contact information.
				Rick Chinn, Webmaster	
Program C	ommittee				
Committee	Committee	Committee	Committee	Committee	Committee Committee Committee Committee

1
Bob Smith Rogers Christopher Lawrence Daniel JJ Dan Dr. Ivan Michael Rich Michael Matesky

Deckard Schwedler Casado Johnston Mortensen Tashev

Dr. Michael Michael Milliams

Last modified 11/20/2014.